Life is Good

My family was one of the first to throw money at the Life is Good company when it started pumping out t-shirts and bumper stickers in the mid to late 90s.  We wore their merch and repeated their slogan so often that we would almost forget how true the words are:

Life is good!

Unfortunately the company found out that Profits are Better when switching from high quality screen printing on high quality shirts to low quality crap patched together in China. We have pre-9-11 shirts that are in better condition than some that we bought during Obama’s second term. Despite this, I still find myself buying some of their stuff from time to time. I suppose I’m a delightful combination of optimistic and forgetful.

The “Powered by Optimism” bumper sticker pictured above was one such purchase. The message grabbed me to such an extent that I was moved to share it with the strangers on the angry, gridlocked highways that cut Orlando into pieces. Maybe I was amused by the image of me yelling myself hoarse and red out of the drivers side window of the vehicle with this message displayed proudly on the back.

In any case, after making the purchase, I prepared the perfect spot on the rear of the mini-van and applied the sticker. I admired it briefly and went inside for the night, knowing I’d be bragging to strangers about my extreme level of optimism after only one night of sleep.

The next morning, I found the new sticker had unstuck itself and was hanging on weakly by a corner. Most people would give up at this point realizing that the Life is Good merchandise wasn’t going to perform at the same level as a regular bumper sticker or even a Post-it. I am not most people. Remember the claims made by the sticker? An optimism guru would never give up so easily. Surely, reapplying the sticker would fix the problem that wasn’t fixed during the first application.

Nope. I tried several more times before the sticker couldn’t even muster the strength to hold on long enough to give me a moment of hope. Luckily, I am a realistic optimist. Given enough time I can usually see when I am whipped beyond all hope.

Waiting for the connection to health, exercise, running, plant based dieting, or living like a vegan? Too bad. I just wanted to share the story of the Powered by Optimism sticker that wouldn’t work, no matter how optimistic or persistent I was.

Oh, by the way, I’m down another four pounds in only three days and I’m feeling very good about this return to being a Veganaut.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

One response to “Life is Good

Leave a Reply

