A Week Back on the Wagon

wk1

If this were a 7 Day Vegan Challenge/Cleanse/ReBoot, I’d already be planning tomorrow’s celebratory Finger Lickin’ Rib Cookout Party. Lucky for me (and my cholesterol count) this ain’t no challenge.

It has been as easy as vegan sweet potato pie to fall back into good habits. The food is better than I remember, I feel the dairy addiction fading, and my intestines haven’t been this clean in a long time. In the days to come, there will be plenty of time to look with honesty and some disappointment at the last 20+ months and see that I was way more Not Vegan than I was Veganaut. For now I’m happy to focus on the recent accomplishments and continue to take this one week at a time. At least until I can start counting by months again.

As an expert at being a vegan beginner, I can assure all the other noobs out there that this process gets easier and easier. You’ll eventually reach a point where you have to hide rolling your eyes when people gush about how hard veganism sounds. However, that automatic eye roll is earned with weeks of building new habits and reinforcing them as if they are a lifestyle and not a temporary state of being.

Until then, try to forget all about #NationalFriedChickenDay and keep a copy of the Forks Over Knives DVD handy for moments of weakness. Stay strong brave Veagnaut brothers and sisters!

 

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

Leave a Reply

