Second Day 5: the Fourth

4thofjuly

To all of my good friends residing OUTSIDE of the red, white, and blue third of North America; please excuse the noise, smoke, and flying debris that is a result of our celebration. It may seem excessive but in reality, you are correct.

To all of my good friends residing in ‘Murica, Happy Fourth of July! Cheers to your fresh, clean cut lawns- cheers to your patriotic bunting and the 5×10 storage unit that you must rent to hold it all- cheers to your insane fireworks that should probably be handled by professional pyrotechnic artisans who were trained at Disney theme parks- cheers to your plentiful vegan beers and your insanely good vegan burgers!

Today is the fifth day of returning to a serious vegan, plant-based diet. I know that after a few months a mere five days will seem paltry but today it seems like a mountain has been climbed and beaten. I’m already looking forward to my one week chip coming on Wednesday! Shannon (chef-magician) and I have been easily slipping back into the good habits we made only a few years ago. Even on a day like today, which is traditionally a Meat-a-palooza type event, I’m not feeling the expected yearning for the edible versions of Brother Cow, Brother Pig, and Brother Chicken. Instead, I am very excited about having the plant-based version of a suspiciously good grilled burger.

Notice I don’t say “try.” I’m not trying this miracle for the first time. I’ve had this fake burger before and was fully prepared to mock it as another failed attempt and follow up the mocking with a tirade about getting my damned hopes up again. It was going to be a temper tantrum of epic proportions- I considered live streaming it on Periscope or posting a story version of it on Snapchat but then I remembered I was in my 40s.

Needless to say, I’m excited to have another Beast Burger experience today because the one I tried before was shockingly good. It’s also nice to have a special day early in the re-veganizing to help remind me that this is a lifestyle I happily lived for two years and the return is a cause for celebration rather than mourning.

To all of my good friends in and out of arbitrary political boundaries, Happy Day 5, and cheers to the years still to come.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

Leave a Reply

