The Farm

home-garden-suburban-gardeningWell, hey! How the H-E-double hockey sticks are ya? It feel like 2/3rds of year since we sat down together and chewed the seitan. I hope 2014 treated you well. It was certainly an exciting year for my family. We bought a house!

Shannon and I have been renting since the early 1990s. Over the decades we watched the housing market grow steadily, balloon slightly, boom uncontrollably, crash horrendously, recover meekly, slip slightly, and then fester pungently. Not knowing much about the economy, we assumed that smell was the signal to buy.

The home we bought has a lot of suburban farming potential. The problem we faced with renting is that you never know how long you will be in a location. Gypsies don’t plant avocado trees. Nomads are not known for cultivating citrus. In a lot of ways, roots require roots.

Even our little seasonal gardens over the years were shadows of their true potential. Enriching the soil was an uncertain investment, much less running irrigation lines or building a sturdy fence. Plus, any really good garden needs toad homes, and I couldn’t bring myself to make any, knowing I might one day need to evict the little warty guys.

Now we find ourselves settled in Central Florida, primed and ready to try living off our land to some extent. Trees will be planted, gardens will be staked out, rainwater will be redirected… it is a very exciting time. So far we’ve decided on one each of these trees: mango, avocado, orange, lemon, lime. We also have planned for two banana trees and a decorative patch for pineapples. On top of that, I’ve been adding fresh ginger and turmeric root to my smoothies lately and was pleasantly surprised to learn that the gnarled brown knots that grow underground are attached to some very tropical and decorative leaves above.

Do you have any suggestions for crops we should grow or resources we should absorb before Spring arrives… which is like next week here in sunny Florida (please don’t hate us). I’d love to hear from you in the comments below.

I’d also love to share my second favorite part of our home. Check out where I get to put the Christmas train! This is just the proof of concept construction. Now that we know it fits and works, we can begin construction on the tiny buildings, trees, snow banks, tunnels, and new lighting system that’s obviously needed.

Happy Winter Solstice!

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

2 responses to “The Farm

  • Cheryl

    I feel your pain over gardening. We own two homes, yet don’t have a garden at either one because we live in different places, for different parts of the year. I am content to support the local co-op and CSA. It would be so rewarding to have a beautiful garden, but alas, not in the cards at the moment.

  • jasongillett

    Luckily, we are surrounded by farmers markets. They go off like fireworks throughout the week and each one we visit makes us “oooo” and “ahhh” for various reasons.
    They are insurance against the possibility that I’ve overestimated my green thumb.

Leave a Reply

