T-100 Days

vegan-veg-writingThere are only 100 days before I become a 43 year old man.

If we have not met before, I should probably clarify; I am not currently a woman who is becoming a man, I am a 42 year old who is becoming a 43 year old. After not adding anything to this blog for eight months I have to be careful not to assume you good readers out there know a thing about me… but enough about me, let’s get back to me.

Much like the New Year, I use birthdays as a chance to take stock in myself and make resolutions to fix the areas that need restocking. Shortly before my last blog post, around 265 days ago, I’d set a docket of lofty goals for my 42 year old self. Then, much like this blog, I completely ignored them. Unfortunately, it is easy to make a list but even easier to ignore it.

Well, no more! I’ve decided to wake myself from the comfortable, warm couch of complacency and jump to my unsuspecting feet. With 100 days to go before I complete this lap around the sun, I feel reinvigorated and confident that I can make a dent in my self-improvement honey-do list.

Now that I am retaking the wheel, there is a healthy eating component, a daily exercise component, and a writing component that make up my next 100 days. It may seem a little ambitious but with less than 30% of age 42 left I need to invest more aggressively in myself.

“But Jason,” you may say, “what about the holidays?”

To be honest, I’m surprised you feel comfortable beginning your sentence with a conjunction. Sure, it’s not technically breaking any rules, but I feel there is a time and a place for such recklessness.

And to answer your imaginary question with a rhetorical one, when during a calendar year are we truly free from the temptation of celebration? We waddle from President’s Day, to MLK weekend and Valentines Day, to St. Patrick’s Day, and March Madness. Spring Break leads into Memorial Day and the Fourth of July. Then we have August which is National Picnic Month. From here it is a slippery slope from fall festivals, to football season, and into Halloween, the gateway to the aforementioned holiday season.

It would be easy to write off the next two or three weeks as a deliciously lost cause. The only flaw in that logic is that I am ready to start now. I have snored rather obnoxiously on the comfortable couch for long enough.

 

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

One response to “T-100 Days

  • VegansHusband

    Hey, it’s never to early to start. Or stop starting. Or un-give-up. I’ve been a little behind myself, so maybe I’ll join you in a little self-improvement. Or at least hey a few blog posts written. . .

Leave a Reply

