Veganaut Tales with Susan and Cheryl

vegan-campfireAfter the call for stories last week I’ve been getting a lot of email from crew members asking questions about sharing their personal journey that led them to a vegan or veganaut existence.  Many people were concerned about writing 500-900 words about themselves.  Rest assured, the word count is very loose!  I’d rather have you share your success story with the world in 95 words rather than not at all.  The important part is compiling a list of veganaut tales that show new vegans and the veg-curious how simple and rewarding this way of life can be.  Share if you can!

This week we are lucky enough to meet two of the bravest veganauts: Cheryl and Susan.  I can tell they are brave because they were the first two people to send in their stories- these are the kind of people who would be the first to storm off of the boat and into the battle against factory farming and fast food.  Thanks to them, I got off my butt and found a printer that is going to make our first Jason & the Veganauts themed merchandise: the mighty bumper sticker.  As soon as these little beauties get dropped off by UPS I’ll be mailing one to the following two heroes- and anyone else who has their story posted to the blog.

Meet Susan aka The Savvy Sister!

I grew up eating sit down dinners with my parents and 5 sisters. Our Mom was a great cook and our meals always included meat, starch, and veggie. My Dad was a cardiac patient, so our meals were, what I thought was relatively healthy. I became a cardiac nurse and thought by eating skinless chicken, yogurt and milk that I was doing my body good. Fast forward 20 years, I developed stage III cancer at age 40. I dove head first into information that would help me avoid another “run in” with the Big C. Through years of research and dietary changes, I found the more I eliminated animal products, the better I felt. The medication I was taking for my cancer caused severe joint pain and mobility issues. I could barely walk 1 mile at a time. Dairy was the last thing to go for me. As soon as I gave up dairy, my joint pain was completely eliminated and in 2011 I ran my first half marathon. Something I would never thought I would be able to do.

Now I am an advocate for plant-based diets. I have researched hundreds of studies and research articles and I know that this type of diet is what my body needs to stay it’s healthiest. Nothing will guarantee that my cancer won’t come back, but with a plant-based diet I have the best shot of living the best quality of life I can…no matter how long that is.

I don’t think people realize how good they could feel, until they try it.

Susan G, RN

Read and follow her blog here: http://sisterearthorganics.wordpress.com/

Meet Cheryl!

Thank you for the opportunity to share and encourage others to lean into a plant based lifestyle. I went full out vegan on June 1, 2010; the main reason being because I had gained about 30 pounds, and felt terrible. We had been receiving news all to often of friends suffering, and dying of pancreatic cancer which led me to research the subject. Upon learning the contributing lifestyle habits of many who succumb to this form of cancer, I decided to learn all I could about being a healthy vegan, and then picked a date and made the change. I’m still 100% vegan, and have never felt better in my life. I read The China Study, viewed Forks over Knives, Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead; and learned the sad horror of factory farming. I followed the lives of people like Kris Carr, and Jess Ainscough as they adopted a cancer-stopping way of life. It didn’t take long for me to realize that plant based living made sense on every level, and it is how I plan to live the rest of my life.

Blessings to anyone out there looking to make the change. All Gods creatures will be better off because of it.

Super special thanks to Susan and Cheryl for helping pioneer this new component of the veganaut support network.  Your stories will help others- and the more people we help, the more animals we save, the more we help the planet as a whole.  I look forward to sharing more veganaut tales in the future… hopefully even yours.

BTDubs- If you submit your tale AND you have a vegan blog, please include the link so I can add it to your post.

<email: watchmelose150@gmail.com>

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

10 responses to “Veganaut Tales with Susan and Cheryl

  • The Savvy Sister

    Susan G is The Savvy Sister. I have some great plant-based recipes and tips. Thanks for the post Jason! Great idea and I look forward to reading more “Tales” (I almost said “veggietales”….sorry)
    http://www.sisterearthorganics.wordpress.com

    • jasongillett

      WOW! I must admit that I didn’t know that Susan G. was The Savvy Sister- one of my hero bloggers!! It’s like bumping into Henry Kissinger but not realizing who it was until the next day- I’m shocked : ) I’ve added the link above into the post. Thanks for sharing SS!!

  • veganaut1

    Very happy to find your blog! I’m in my first week of eating purely Vegan. Started well, but struggling a bit at the moment. I really want to make this transition and I’m going to enjoy reading the blog entries here 🙂

    • jasongillett

      WELCOME, WELCOME, WELCOME!!

      The first week is going to be the most intense but you will reach a point very soon where it stops feeling foreign and starts feeling normal. I am VERY excited for you! There are so many positive changes and benefits coming- some of which you may have already begun to experience.

      Join us in our Private Facebook group if you’d like to stay in connected with our support network: https://www.facebook.com/groups/theVeganauts/

      BEST OF LUCK!!

  • Karin

    Wow, very inspiring stories! Much gratitude to Susan and Cheryl for sharing their stories, and to Jason for creating the space in which to share! 🙂

    • jasongillett

      Weren’t they great? I am so inspired by hearing the different paths that bring us all together in this adventure. These stories remind me of what the Dalai Lama said: People take different roads seeking fulfillment and happiness. Just because they’re not on your road doesn’t mean they’ve gotten lost. Thanks Karin!!

  • Cheryl

    Thank you for sharing our stories Jason. It makes me so happy when I see other people realize how great a clean, green, healthy life can be.

    • jasongillett

      You are a hero and a pioneer Cheryl! Thank you for sharing- I am excited to see your story read by so many people- almost 100 in the last 90 minutes! Spreading the news that “it can be done” is exciting work. Thanks again!!

  • Jenn

    Love these stories! Thanks for sharing Cheryll and Susan!

Leave a Reply

