So Very Thankful

Happy Thanksgiving Evening to everyone!  It is that special time of the big day when belts are being un-notched, slacks are being swapped for sweat pants, and a lot of people are wondering why in the world they thought the fourth plate of comfort food was a good idea… and everywhere turkeys are breathing a little easier.

The fowl carnage contrasts oddly with the general outpouring of thankfulness being shared by so many in North America.  It gets a little more wonky when you factor in the stampeding humans who profess their thankfulness one day and fight to the death the next day for discounted electronics.  However, none of this dampens my calm carbohydrate coma.  As I sit on this comfy couch I find myself getting lost in the math of counting my own blessings.

Among the blessings bonanza there are the usual suspects to be thankful for: family, friends, and everything found on Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs.  However, new to this year’s thankful reflections are all of you.  The veganaut community warms my heart and lifts my spirits.  It is immensely satisfying to be part of a larger community that is busy making positive changes in the world.  From the supportive omnivores on the sidelines to the Meatless Monday Crew- from the flexitarian community to the plant based dieters and compassionate vegans- we are a tidal wave of positive encouragement at a time when our society has become adept at tearing people down and polarizing itself.

The Veganauts group on Facebook has become a constant source of positive reinforcement and uplifting comments in the few months that it has been active.  People share their failures and receive encouragement and accolades for trying their best.  Others share their medical miracles and stories of amazed doctors scratching their heads over perfect blood work numbers.  All this goodness comes on top of the standard recipes, vegan links, and the cutting edge Q&A.

I have not been publishing blog posts more than once a week recently because I have been busy ‘tending my own garden.’  I’ve been spending time with the fam, getting ahead at work, getting the house put back together, organizing the family finances, and finding my center.  My Dad refers to this process as “Assembling your feces,” which is a very nice way to describe getting your *poop together.  Having my feces assembled is a huge relief and something else I am thankful for.

Now that ‘my garden’ is growing nicely on its own, I am able to refocus on the blog and all of the related components.  The veganaut book, blog site overhaul, new shirts, and speaking engagements are all getting the attention they deserve… and I am thankful to be able to dive back into something that I am passionate about.

Happy Thanksgiving Weekend.  Happy Holidays.  Happy everything… and THANK YOU!

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

6 responses to “So Very Thankful

Leave a Reply

