News Brief

It isn’t the catchiest post title, but since this contained mostly news and it is very brief it seemed appropriate.  As you may have noticed, I took a hiatus right after last week’s Virtual Vegan Potluck 2.0.  It isn’t even over yet, but I felt I should post something so you didn’t worry that I’d jumped ship completely.

A week ago today I found out that a very dear friend passed without any warning.  Last Friday morning, at the age of 40, he suffered a heart attack and died in the office where he worked.  I was devastated by the news.  Sorrow, nostalgia, regret and even fear make a dangerous cocktail, yet I found myself ordering it by the pitcher throughout the last week.

I look forward to telling you more about about Allen Walter Hines in the days to come.  I have more than 25 years of great stories to curate into a single post about him which will be no easy feat, but I am feeling up to the task again and my hiatus is almost over.

With the promise of more posts soon and a return to the veganaut adventures, I’ll leave you with my Facebook status from last Friday night:

The hardest lessons are learned in hindsight. We do not have an unlimited amount of time to catch up with old friends. We don’t get a second chance to tell people how much we cherished their friendship once they are gone. Delivering past due messages, no matter how heartfelt, by speaking into the empty air pales in comparison to firmly hugging your loved ones and telling them in person. RIP Allen. You were a great man and an even better friend. I will not soon forget this hard lesson and I will never forget you.
About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

20 responses to “News Brief

Leave a Reply

