Beach Week Wrap-up

Another Beach Week is in the books and I am writing this blog post so I can act far too busy to help pack the van or find the missing flip-flops, keys and children.  We had a great week of  alternately lounging around and wrestling the waves that were pounding sand and tourist alike.  Seeing our extended family and catching up on all the news that wasn’t fit to post on Facebook was a regenerative experience.  Our babies from the original playgroup that spawned this annual tradition will be asking for the car keys next year.  There was a decade-and-a-half of reminiscing and reflecting mixed in with our relaxing week.

From a food standpoint I had a great week, especially if you are comparing it to previous Beach Weeks.  Our vegan dishes were mostly plant-strong (low fat) and fruit was usually the snack of choice.  I will admit to a platter of french fries with my meatless burger.  I can even face up to a diet soda or two with potato and bagel chips.  These are easy to admit to because of the 5K beach walks and mid-day heat-stroke Putt-Putt sessions.  The sea breeze makes it possible to find almost 20% more energy in yourself while at the same time having the power to lull you into a nap of epic proportions.  I can see retiring here.  Next week.

The kids have three weeks of summer break left, but summer doesn’t really end for another month or two.  Historically, summer is a great weight loss season for me.  I plan on taking advantage of the bountiful harvest available at the Winter Springs Farmers Market.  My family and I are going to continue to get more than our tax money’s worth out of the awesome trail system in Seminole County.  I will continue to enjoy the slow but steady loss of weight- but if it drops off more rapidly in the months to come I wont complain one little bit.

There are several stories from this week that I plan to share in the near future.  However,  it seems that sitting with my laptop on the back porch, within throwing distance of the dunes and waves while doing “important blogging work” isn’t going to be an acceptable excuse to miss all of the packing fun.  The subtle yelling and throwing of wet bathing suits is getting the point across.  I need to go… but I’ll be back.

Happy Summer!

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

2 responses to “Beach Week Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

