Day 170: Tough Choices

*note: this was posted on April Fools Day- it turned into a kind of War of the Worlds reaction, so I thought I should add this note.

Well friends and readers, 170 days was a great run.  When I first started this experiment, I never thought I’d make it past 2 weeks much less 25.  Being vegan and living plant strong seemed like the hardest thing in the world to do.  However, with the support of good people like you I was always able to find the will to dig down deep and keep avoiding the animal products.  After a while, I found that the herbivore lifestyle was one of diversity and choices.

I am proud of this accomplishment and honored to have met so many great people, which is why making this announcement is such a difficult thing to do.  I’m especially concerned about upsetting my sister, who has been very involved in my “transformation.”  However much I might like to curl up and hide from the truth right now, I believe honesty is the best policy.

Today I am transitioning back to Atkins dieting so I can lose weight faster and reach optimum health sooner.  I did not come by this decision lightly.  I’ve spent a lot of time weighing the pros and cons, and this is the better choice for me.  I will feel bad that animals have to die to feed me, but I am willing to deal with this for a year or two while I lose more weight.  Maybe when I am done I can cut back on the meat again.

I visited my old doctor in Gainesville, and he said that my protein and B-12 levels were too low and that if I didn’t start drinking milk again, my bones would break.  I know a lot of you told me that this kind of thing can’t happen on a proper vegan diet, but I’ve known my doctor for almost five years and I trust him.

I was worried about my blood pressure going back up and my gout returning if I started Atkins again.  We also talked about my recurring bowel infections I used to deal with.  He said that all these problems have solutions provided by modern science, which put my mind at easy.

I have learned a lot about compassion for animals during my 170 day vegan run.  It wont be easy for me to chow down on animal protein again.  I feel bad for most of the mammals.  I am not saying that I wont eat beef or pork, but I will be eating mostly chicken, fish, eggs and dairy. I will try to keep my beef and pork intake to less than 25% of the total meat consumed.

I hope that you will understand that I had to do what I thought was best for my myself, and in this case, with bathing suit weather around the corner, animals are going to have to die.  Happy April Fools Day.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

29 responses to “Day 170: Tough Choices

Leave a Reply

