Day 161: New Life Eve 2

It was one hundred and sixty one days ago when I wrote this blog’s first post.  I was surrounded by the trappings of a carnivorous feast and talked about the life changing event that was about to take place.  It turned out that while I was a little nervous, everything worked out better than I could have hoped for.

I am healthier, happier, and loving my new life.  The people I am meeting are a rowdy, fun loving crowd with nothing but support for people trying to kick the animal flesh habit.  The experience of eating from a new layer of the Food Pyramid (brought to you by the stooges at the USDA) is not getting old.  In fact, I am eating new foods on a weekly basis.

The nervousness of New Life Eve 1 turned out to be completely unnecessary and this is what I keep focusing on tonight, as I watch the clock.  I might be nervous about the life changing event that is 53 minutes away, but I have no way to prevent it from reaching me.  Time marches on and it seems that it is working on its cardio tonight.

In… uh… 49 minutes, the calendar date will be March 24.  That will mean, by law, I will be 40 years old.  The real anniversary for 40 years on Earth doesn’t happen until a little after 1pm, Florida time so I could put off being in awe of the passage of time for a little while.  However, there is no arguing with the calendar.  March 24 is almost here and there is nothing to be done about it.

Except celebrate.

I am so proud to be reaching this benchmark while on the highway to health and while loving my life.  I am not lamenting any lost victories or making promises about getting fit someday or even shopping for a Porsche 911.  I am just watching the clock.  41 minutes and counting.

The day after I learned I was going to be a father I drove out to my parents house alone.  When I pulled up to their home through the wooded drive, I was glad to see the family I grew up with sitting in the front yard.  I got out of the car and took a seat and soaked up the last 20 minutes I would simply be their son and brother.  We shared a conversation and slapped some mosquitoes.  I was bursting with the good news but cherishing the minutes I had left in my old life.  Telling them the news was going to change everything.  I knew they’d be ecstatic, but I was cherishing my moment in the woods with them.

This is the emotion I am sitting with at the 35 minute mark: nostalgia, wrapped in hope and dipped in pride.  I would also deep fry it, but after the editing and revising, its now only 27 minutes before midnight.  That isn’t how I want to spend my last moments before turning 40.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

23 responses to “Day 161: New Life Eve 2

Leave a Reply

