Day 130: Versatile Blogger Award

I have been given the Versatile Blogger Award from the vivacious and versatile Air Eater.

It is kind of like a chain letter to help bloggers find readers and to help readers find blogs.  However, it has the capitalized word Award in the title, so I accept.

I’d like to thank my family and friends that stood by me and never let me lose sight of  the prestigious Versatile Blogger Award.  I love you Honey… uh.. I mean Agave Nectar (pause for laughter).  Kids- show’s over- go to bed!! (wait for uproarious laughter to die down) Special thanks to my sister Jenn who does a lot of work behind the scenes helping with FB content, managing the Twitter account @Atkins2Vegan and generally being supportive from the beginning.

I’d also like to thank Air Eater and the other helpful bloggers out there that form this close knit community.  When I was a new vegan blogger 130 days ago I leaned on this group of passionate vegan writers for support.  They were quick to answer questions and help a newbie down the path to compassionate, healthful eating and living.  Air Eater was one of the first to help me down that path and it is an even greater honor to be selected by her.

Just like in her post I’m going to re-iterate the rules for the award: Thank the person who nominated you and link back to them in your post. Share 7 things about yourself. Pass the award on to 15 more bloggers that YOU enjoy. Contact the bloggers that you have chosen to let them know that they have been nominated!

Here are 7 facts about me:

1) I co-planned and co-wrote a book about grilling and smoking pork ribs around the same time that I helped design and build a huge mobile Bar-b-q smoker.

2) I’ve taught humans of every age, K-12, college, adult and everything in between~ in subjects ranging from algebra to sailing to Zen archery.

3) I supported a family of five on a stunted elementary school teaching salary AND as a professional poker player while Shannon finished her teaching degree.

4) Oh my.  I turn 40 in several weeks and just bought my first pair of reading glasses.  I make them look good.

5) I answered to the name Tonto for 18 years of my life, and no, not the first 18. Ages 16-34.

6) My name is Jason and I spent decades worth of summers working at Camp Crystal Lake, a fun ‘Friday the 13’ fact that my wife has enjoyed sharing with her friends since we met there in 1991.

7) Currently, I am an instructor at a Florida university in an educational technology masters program for teachers.

The 15 bloggers that I want to nominate for this award, and that you should check out, are:

http://aireater.com/

http://happyrehabdoc.blogspot.com/

http://moreapplesaday.com/blog

http://toxicvegan.com/

http://thisisnotadiet-itsmylife.com/

http://sisterearthorganics.wordpress.com/

http://happyherbivore.com/blog/

http://veganbloggersunite.wordpress.com/

http://beezelbarb.wordpress.com/

http://anunrefinedvegan.com/

http://gokaleo.com/

http://veganvamps.blogspot.com/

http://www.yourdailyvegan.com/

http://peasandthankyou.com/

http://marthalicious.wordpress.com/

If you get a chance to visit these blogs, leave a comment and tell them congratulations for winning the highly coveted Versatile Blogger Award.

There are other blogs that I enjoy that I’ll remember later today and wish that I’d mentioned, but that is just part of the big award speech pressure.  You can never remember all the people you need to thank before the music cuts you off.  Luckily as the producer of this particular show… HEY! WHO CUED THE MUSIC? NO WAIT!!.. I’M Not do……

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

20 responses to “Day 130: Versatile Blogger Award

  • The Savvy Sister

    You like me! You REALLY like me!
    I am honored to be among this list! Now excuse me, I have some subscribing to do.

    • jasongillett

      Who else is going to answer all my vegan and health related questions at 3am? Only you and the other v-bloggers I learned from! Enjoy the subscribing and the subsequent DAYS of reading 🙂 Plant power!

  • Amber Shea @Almost Vegan

    That is too funny about how you wrote a book about pork ribs!
    I won a Taste of Home recipe contest when I was in college with a pork tenderloin dish…my, how far we’ve come!

    • jasongillett

      We HAVE come a long way! When I go through my old photos I have almost as many grilling meat pictures as I do photos of my children. I’ll bet your pork tenderloin was delicious back in the day. Now, my mouth waters as much for spinach and strawberry salad as it did back then for BBQ. Go us!!

  • An Unrefined Vegan

    If nominated I will not run, if elected…oh wait, wrong speech. Aww, thanks for including my blog in this amazing list! I’ll be spending the rest of the day checking out all of these blogs.

    • jasongillett

      Have fun perusing the list~ as a previously uneducated vegan, I got a lot of late night help by browsing your archives and many of the others listed here. It is such a huge help to have collections of thoughts or beliefs spelled out and always available for the newly veganated. Now it is an honor to write in similar circles. Enjoy the valuable trophy!!

  • Peter

    Congrats to you!

    Thanks for the Award nomination and for continually contributing great content to a great cause. Your cookbook is gonna need a sequel though, maybe: Grilling & Smoking Pork Ribs: A Meatless Cookbook…

    LIVE Longer We Will!

    • jasongillett

      I wouldn’t have thought it would be possible before but Primal Strips have convinced me I can be fooled by fake meat- I am excited to see how fake meat and a grill come together- however, I know the charring adds carcinogens and the fake meat itself isn’t the best, but considering what I used to eat I think I can overlook a grilled Tofurky sausage or some BBQ seitan every other week or so. Thanks for all of your great content and the excellent Facebook updates. Live longer we will!

  • Dr. Cat, The Happy Rehab Doc

    Thanks Jason!! I’m polishing up my acceptance speech now–hehe 🙂 Loving your posts lately–sorry I haven’t had as much time to comment (overwhelmed!!) but things are settling down a bit so I’ll be chiming in more! Loved your post on Austin–we’re planning a TX trip in March so I’ll be sure to ask you for any vegan restaurant recs!! 🙂 Take care and thank you so much!!! :-))))))

    • jasongillett

      I understand overwhelmed! Austin is going to be a hip and happening place in March- you will have a blast. I could have set up a tent at the Flagship Whole Foods and lived there all week. Have a great trip! Shoot me an email any time: watchmelose150 at gmail dot com

  • Go Kaleo

    What a cool idea! Thanks for including me. Is this strictly a vegan thing, or can I link to other kinds of blogs as well when I forward this chain letter on? 😀

    • jasongillett

      It is a free for all~ any blogger is welcome! It is your list with your focus so go wild 🙂 I have a few kale pictures I want to send you- some of the first pictures I took with my new camera. Yours, on your blog, look great- I love that purple pink!

  • Jenn

    Wow! Thanks for the SO! And during such an important event! I guess now if you forget when you are on Ellen I will need to forgive you.

  • Versatile Blogger Award–Thanks! « The Savvy Sister

    […] was great to read his post and to see who he listed to pass the award on to, because I found some great vegan blogs that I […]

  • projectwhitespace

    I came here to find out what the VBA was, and I seriously laughed out loud at your acceptance speech. You are very funny. 🙂 (and I’m still smiling).

  • Air Eater Ⓥ (@LidiaLF)

    Hi Jason,
    Sorry I’m so late in commenting on your post. Glad that you liked the award and I appreciate the kind words. Didn’t know about the BBQ thing, wow, imagine that. Look how far you’ve come. Must be satisfying. Carry on my friend! Love how fun your blog is to read.
    Lidia aka. Air Eater

    • jasongillett

      Thanks Lidia- You are one of my original supporters from waaaay back in this short journey. Thank you very much for taking the time to help out the fledgling vegans. There are so few herbivores that we need to be extra helpful to the noobs- and you have done that and more. Thanks again!

  • Day 243: The Reader Appreciation Award « Watch Me Lose 150 Pounds…

    […] at another blogging award ceremony!  I thought nothing could be as exciting receiving the coveted Versatile Blogger Award, but to be awarded a “Reader Appy” is pretty […]

Leave a Reply

