Day 129: Puppy News

Greetings good people! I know it has been a long time since we have chewed the TVP together and I know that I have been neglecting you more than I should, which is why I brought a puppy to share.  No one can be upset with a guy holding a puppy.

Since returning from Austin I have been using a shovel, pick axe, and a pitch fork to try and dig out of the life avalanche that buried me.  I can see the carpet in the house again.  The nice people from the utility companies and various student loan holders are satisfied that their bottom line is safe now that my electronic checks have cleared.  Also, my employer is more likely to continue paying me because I have completed the pile of work that accumulated while I was away on work.  Unfortunately, this meant I had to take a vacation from my blogging responsibilities last week.   Now that I’ve caught myself up again I feel able to jump back into the exciting world of vegan blogging and sharing my experiences with you.

Since the middle of last October I have been 99.999% dairy and animal free.  My two and a half shameful failings are documented in a few posts throughout this blog.  If you haven’t read them before, please feel free to click around the archives and help drive up my page read counters.

It has been four months and week (and a bit) without eating eggs, fish, chicken, pork, beef, milk, cheese, sour cream, ice cream, or even honey.  My non-food purchases, like clothes and hardware store items, have been practically animal-free with a few mistakes I’ll be admitting to in the near future.  All in all I’ve been a pretty good vegan. I would score myself at roughly a Level 2.7 on the Gillett Vegan Scale.

After a life of hurting myself with fast food and the Standard American Diet, followed by years of hurting myself with high protein Atkin’s dieting, I am a changed man thanks to the many beneficial facets of veganism.  I love this way of life and I am glad to offer encouragement to anyone who would like to try it temporarily or with a more long-term commitment in mind.

I am also hugely grateful to all of the carnivores, omnivores, herbivores, pescatarians, ovo-pescatarians, flexitarians, and cookie monsters following along with me on the journey.  The support you’ve all offered has helped me to stay on track to a healthier life.  Its been more of a benefit than I would have ever thought possible.  I will try to articulate it more clearly in the future, but it will probably take a whole chapter to do the topic any justice.

Watch Me Lose 150 Pounds… while I end world hunger, fix the global economy, and save the polar bears.  The blog’s title might seem a little conceited but it is serving a bigger purpose.  I learned a secret by mistake.  By making grand plans and lofty goals in a very public and detailed way I am much more likely to be successful in reaching them.  I have had the magic work for me several times in the past.  When it was time to name the blog, I went with something that would announce my intentions clearly to the world. Now I am close to reaching the 100 pounds mark and I even feel like I’m making a dent in the economy, world hunger and polar bear issues.

That is why I am here with you good people right now.  I have something I need to announce publicly and I want you to be the public to hear it.  Tune in next week to hear what… just kidding.

I’m writing a book about this amazing transformation, from Atkins to vegan.  I’ve started already and it will be polished and ready when I finally hit the 150 pound mark.  At the rate I’ve been going, I should be done with both lofty goals by the end of Summer- beginning of Fall.  I was the king of carnivores but I have worked my way to a level 2.7 vegan on the Gillett Vegan Scale like a champ.  I’d like to share my secrets with the world… kind of like I do here in the blog except for money to help pay off my student loans before my kids start taking their own out.  Oh, and to help the polar bears some more.

Please read along as the final 60 pounds melt away and I regain my health. There is a good chance there will be more puppy pictures to share.  Mable Feigh lives with us now instead of the rescue shelter people and she seems to love having her picture taken.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

23 responses to “Day 129: Puppy News

Leave a Reply

