Day 24: Fat Sick and Nearly Dead

I think that Netflix On Demand Documentary section is the new Saturday morning cartoons for adults.  There is so much engaging propaganda from so many sources that you can spend a weekend and recreate your belief system if you want.  Ever consider being a 911 conspiracy theorist? Do you dream of making millions selling pot?  Does the thought of Lee Harvey Oswald fill you with unexplainable anger?  Then, Netflix Documentaries are for you!

I think realizing that documentaries are made with the intention of educating as well as re-educating is important.  Even when you agree wholeheartedly with the content, you should raise shields to maximum and go to red alert when viewing.  If critical thinking skills are firmly in place, you can filter out the brain washing and just take in the big ideas.

Food Inc is solid gold and Forks Over Knives is transformative.  An Inconvenient Truth makes you want to do something.  These documentaries were a great way to reinvigorate myself at the end of the the first three weeks of my new lifestyle.  When I watched them this weekend, I set my filter aside and let them soak into my psyche.   When the ribs are being grilled next door and a catered work lunch has giant roast beef sandwiches I need to have some visual images and big ideas to hold up like shields.  It is hard to battle craving and addiction without some armor.

I have found the thickest, safest, most protective armor with the documentary Fat Sick and Nearly Dead.  I was very skeptical when I read the preview.  It had words like steroids and fasting and rapid weight loss.  It sounded like any number of fad diets and I have done a good job of avoiding those for three and a half weeks now.  However, the movie was life changing.  I laughed, I cried, it became a part of me.  I can’t believe I just used that cliche in context and I meant it 100%.  Spoiler Alert: He didn’t fast.  He juiced bags of fruits and vegetables and ate only that for months.  He ate way more food for medicine than I am able to by condensing it into pre-chewed vegan fare.  Sound gross?  Watch the results and it starts to look more and more like a vanilla malt with chocolate syrup with a cherry pie on top.

Mmmmmm…. pre-chewed.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

6 responses to “Day 24: Fat Sick and Nearly Dead

  • Sheree

    We watched “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” this weekend, too~~and I, like you, laughed and cried and I also got a little emotional at the end when I saw Phil playing ball with his boy. Great movie.

  • Jenn

    Cool! I need to see this! Thanks for the great recommendations.

  • jasongillett

    Oh yes, I had a horrendous allergy attack when he was playing catch with his son. 🙂 And when he was jogging and SPOILER CENSOR yellow XXXXXX needed a of of tissue!

  • Jennifer

    Boo spoiler!!!

  • elle

    It’s fantastic isn’t it. I’ve watched it several times now and I just find it so inspiring – both Joe and Phil – phenomenal. I have juiced for years but not lived on just juice until I watched this and decided to try it for myself. It’s the best I’ve ever felt in my life!

    • jasongillett

      So far I have been juicing for a meal a day or so- more if the veggies start to go bad- We may try a two week mega detox in early 2012- looking forward to it! Never thought I’d say that 🙂

Leave a Reply

