Day 22: The Creative Spark at TEDx

I had the pleasure of attending my first live TED event yesterday, on Day 21.  It was a day long TEDx with the truly exhilarating topic of ‘the Creative Spark.’  There were mind tingling speakers and lengthy intermissions where the attendees and speakers were given ample opportunity to mingle and share and connect.  I met a man who helps run a Hacker Den which is a group of builders, inventors and makers that pool their resources, brain power and big expensive tools and then spend their time solving fun building and invention problems.  Now that I have his card, I can start taking my kids on family nights to learn things like soldering and machining.  Really.  I shook the hands of a journalist who is a very accomplished Chess Boxer, a sport which alternates rounds of- you guessed it- Yatzee and fencing… I mean chess and boxing.

It you do not spend at least some of your week watching TED Talks, you are missing out on a great way to fill yourself with hope.  Here is a good example for vegans and I hope you take some time to dig into TED.  I still can’t believe I got to see the live version of what I normally spend hours watching from my couch and laptop.

The lunch that was included in the admission price was standard large group fair- sandwiches and sides.  I was able to wolf down salad and raw fruit to my heart’s content- some of it was even harvested from the theaters rooftop greenhouse!  I also enjoyed a hearty spoonful of cooked potatoes, cooked yams, green onions, corn and a touch of vinegar.  It was delicious!  Then I found out it had mayonnaise in it!  Which has eggs and cholesterol in it!  Weee!

I found out afterward when I asked the caterer about the specific ingredients because I wanted the recipe.  When she called it potato salad, I felt like a real donkey.  Of course it was potato salad and of course it would have mayo in it.  The two upsides are that it was very lightly used and I am not a complete basket case about being a perfect vegan.  I am doing my best to live off of organic, local plant based foods.  Forks Over Knives speaks of tests using a 5% animal protein level based on calories.  I am personally shooting for 100% plants but I am giving myself the right to accept 99% plants.  There will be times when my food comes from Asia, or contains a dollop of hidden mayo, or has a history with pesticides and chemical fertilizers.

There will be times like last night when I decide that I am going to eat three pieces of sushi with salmon in it.  I ate a total of 12 pieces of delicious sushi for dinner- three had small pieces of raw fish, the rest were from my avocado and asparagus rolls.  I’m not feeling guilty.  I am feeling hopeful.  I feel like I can do this for the the next 60 years.  When I turn 99 I am eating at Chinese buffets and Meat Lovers Pizza washed down with moonshine.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

6 responses to “Day 22: The Creative Spark at TEDx

Leave a Reply

