Day 12: My Meds

I had to pick up a refill for my blood pressure medicine today.  It is an embarrassing prescription to pick up.  The hope is that after several months of cleansing and healing I will be able to wean myself off of the medicine.  After I missed two days of pills I checked the BP at the pharmacy self-serve blood pressure torture chair.  The numbers were high.  I might be able to blame the extreme caffeine mistake I made earlier this afternoon when I ordered a large Brazilian drip and finished it.  Its like a crazy big espresso and my caffeine intake has been half what it normally is for the last 12 days. I like that excuse better than the alternative.

When I started this blog and started the vegetable for medicine style of eating, I had already dropped 50 pounds on a low carb diet with all you can eat steak and bacon meals.  I can be brave and say publicly that my top number was 336.  It is no easy thing to own up to, but pretending it never happened wont accomplish anything.  I doubt seriously that my baggie shirts tricked everyone in to thinking I was a big boned guy with a flair for stylish yet comfortable clothes.

Anyone with a calculator app can see that twelve days ago I was 286.  This number is no easier to drag out into the sunlight.  Sure I’m proud of the loss, and I give myself the Most Improved trophy, but I was really concerned about staying on the Atkins style diet for another 100 pounds.  If I had no cardiovascular concerns I might have never given it another thought.  Today’s refill and last doctor visit’s cholesterol numbers were enough make me open to a change like this- and this morning’s weigh in at 272 is reason enough for me to continue.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

3 responses to “Day 12: My Meds

  • Jenn

    Wow! That is super impressive! I hope to read that the BP is down in a few more weeks.

  • Lindswheel

    Hi,
    Twelve days ago I decided that my 2 years of Atkins living was probably going to stop my heart at some point. Lol (it did make me lose an incredible amout of weight, so I now sit at my goal)

    So I decided to go raw instead. Today I randomly googled ‘from Atkins to vegan’ thinking there had to be at least one person out there who had done this before. And TA DA… Here I am.

    I am reading your posts from the begining, I am finding it amazing!

    I haven’t quite made it to the end yet, but I’ll keep reading!!

    Thank you!

    • jasongillett

      WELCOME WELCOME WELCOME!!! I’m glad you found the ole blog and I look forward to hearing more about your herbivore journey. It is a big change that eventually feels like no big deal. Its hard to describe : ) I’m excited for you!

Leave a Reply

