Day 7: USDA is Dead to Me

There, I’ve finally publicly renounced the people that brought us the four food groups. I have no desire to give them the tongue lashing they so richly deserve in this posting because I am still in a great mood after finding vegan pizza at the Winter Park Mellow Mushroom.

This is a real boon for me.  I am beyond excited that there are vegan options like pizza and spaghetti, and hamburgers.  However, these veggie versions of classic foods still make me uncomfortable.  I have spent so much energy avoiding carbohydrates that being faced with them now confuses my deeply held belief that carbs are bad.

This is highly reminiscent of the deeply held beliefs that I learned from Jane Fonda and Richard Simmons in the 80s: fats and oils are bad and Jazzersise is fun.  Half of this set of beliefs was really hard to overcome when low carb diets became the reality.

Jazzercise will never die.

I believe that dietary conversions are like their religious counterparts.  Leaving the comfort zone found with one all powerful deity and taking the leap to a new religion can take some adjusting.  It took a while, but I am getting used to the new prayers and sacrament.  This belief system is new in practice for me, but the foundation has been solidifying for decades.  I plan to outline my commandments and share my dietary rituals in the future but my time is running out because ‘Thou Shalt Compost Waste and Bring Forth Bounty From the Soil’ is a weekend sacrament that I still have to complete.  If all goes well, I will be making my own divine vegan pizza from the garden in no time.  Mmmmm…  heavenly.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

2 responses to “Day 7: USDA is Dead to Me

Leave a Reply

