Day 3: Learned Helplessness

Today was active enough to keep me focused on something besides the lack of bacon in my life.  The few times I found myself thinking about an upcoming meal or realizing that I was hungry, I didn’t feel helpless despair when I remembered I would not be having having a Bahama Mama for lunch. Instead, I experienced a very familiar reluctant acceptance.

I credit today’s tolerance of a plant based diet on the stellar self control I learned while following an Atkins-esque diet.  I will detail my dieting history in future posts, but for now I will just say that I have spectacular ‘all or nothing’ self control.  As long as I don’t try to trick myself into thinking that I can have something in moderation, I have a stainless steel will power.  I have contentedly sipped coffee while people around me gorged on nachos, ice cream and pizza bagels because I know that a bite leads to a plate which easily segues into a tray and eventually dieting damnation.  The self-control that I developed during that time seems well suited for this new lifestyle.  It is a version of learned helplessness that has my id hardly putting forth any effort to get what it wants.  Like an often kicked dog or George Castanza, my cravings have been beaten down by life and don’t have enough fight left in them to cause any real problems.  Now if I can just keep the ego and super-ego from getting involved, I’ll be set. -286

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

3 responses to “Day 3: Learned Helplessness

  • lauriecook71

    LOL! I also have that all-or-nothing mentality when it comes to food. Today is day#1 on my vegan journey. You are a great inspiration ❤ Thanks for sharing!

    • jasongillett

      Day 1! That is great! All the best on your journey~ you will love the changes you see and feel in yourself. I am very excited for you and hope you keep us up to date on you progress~ so cool!!

  • Laura Vondenhuevel

    I just found your blog (via the cute carrot lobster pic) a page shared that I follow. I must just take a moment to say that I am inspired by your story and that me too have been suckered in by the Atkins diet long ago and lost a lot of weight. Now I am still struggling with going plant based/vegan and this post really resonates. I need to start thinking more of all or none vs. these little sneaks and treats. I have been in a transition diet, think pescetarian, no dairy, but still some eggs now and then… but then sometimes they don’t take the cheese off of something I order, or they sneak in some chicken broth… maybe I too need to make my line in the sand more of a solid 5 pt font line vs. my current more of a dashed line.. thank you for sharing your food journey!

Leave a Reply

