Day 1: A Journey of 1000 Miles Begins with a Single Banana

The shortest distance...In stark contrast to my six year on and off relationship with variations of the Atkins diet, today started off with fruit, and coffee lightened with almond milk.  I was immediately forced to face the fact that all the good intentions in the world do not change carnivorous habits automatically.  Obstacle one of the morning was a perfectly grilled ten dollar steak, sitting on a plate in the fridge begging to be cut up and cooked with cheese and an egg or three.  I only mention that it is a ten dollar steak to illustrate how tempting it was and to point out how much money we will be saving with a plant based diet as opposed to the uber-carnivorous Raptor diet.

It was a day of bananas, almonds, tangerines, all natural peanut butter and vegetable brown rice.  I didn’t mind the food at all, but I was reaching for a diet cola all day that was never there.  Tea and I are going to become very good friends.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

5 responses to “Day 1: A Journey of 1000 Miles Begins with a Single Banana

  • Bean

    Sounds like a good start. Do diet sodas have animals inside????

    • jasongillett

      They don’t- but the healing of medicinal foods and the detoxing that comes with it are the actual goal- the animal protein is only one of the enemies being fought. I will devote a future blog to what my current diet consists of and what my short, medium, and long term goals are. Thanks for the questions and comments 🙂

  • Lyn

    I found you a few days ago and you’ve been an open tab in Firefox ever since, waiting for me to jump back on board. Used to be vegan. Now just unhealthy. I’m reading you from the beginning as I too begin to jump (back) on the plant-based bandwagon. And drop some pounds. And get back to healthy and mindful living. Thanks for the support along the way.

    • jasongillett

      I love hearing this! I am so glad you are reading through and much more excited to hear that you on the verge of vegan again : ) Thank YOU for the support and please check in with news when you can- good, great, or OK, I’d love to hear how you are doing!

  • A Journey of 1000 Miles Begins with a 5K | Jason and the Veganauts

    […] my first day of this veganaut adventure I published a post titled: A Journey of 1000 Miles Begins with a Single Banana.  After years of Atkins style dieting, a fructose filled banana seemed like the most amazing […]

Leave a Reply

