New Life Eve

It is 9:03 on Saturday evening- the Ides of October- and as I listen to the Gators 2011 football team hang on valiantly against Auburn, I am feeling nervous anticipation about the new life I will be waking up to in the morning.  I’ve just finished most of a ridiculously expensive steak and some premium chicken from the charcoal grill.  The last two days have been a whirlwind of  sushi, french fries, tacos and doughnuts.  It is a combination ‘Carb Day’ from the old life, and a New Life Eve style splurge.

There will be plenty of time in the weeks ahead to discuss my fond meat memories from an Atkin’s low carb lifestyle, and the new frontier of a plant based lifestyle that is loosely described in the documentary Forks Over Knives.  Since Cinco de Mayo of this year, I have easily lost 5o pounds eating meat, cheese, and eggs, forsaking all breads, pasta, sugar, and other carbs.  Starting tomorrow I will be living a food for medicine lifestyle which is a sharp 180 degree turn with no animal protein at all.

I will add supporting video, photo, and other content during the life of this blog.  Please keep in mind that I know nothing at all and duplicating any of my personal lifestyle choices without consulting a doctor would be madness.

About jasongillett

I'm Jason Gillett, 2 year VEGAN, and a 41 year old family man. My wife & I teach in a FL school. I am using a blog to chronicle our family's new life. https://howilost150pounds.wordpress.com/ View all posts by jasongillett

10 responses to “New Life Eve

  • Jenn

    So proud that you started this journey! Even more proud that you are using this blog to spread the positive influence to others.

  • Trish

    I just came across this blog today, afetr spending the majority of my workday quietly scoping out my vegan alternatives. I’ve recently decided to take the plunge from mmmmmmeateater to hebavore, and I can’t tell you how much this blog brightened my day 🙂 I’ve received so much negativity surrounding my decision, so thank you for that 🙂

    • jasongillett

      Best of luck Trish! I am sending good plant-based vibes your way!! It is a very personal journey, but we are all here if you need to talk to people. You are plant strong!! Cheers!!!

  • bjwyns

    Glad I found you! I also lived the Atkins lifestyle most of my life and then discovered how bad it was for my poor heart. Forks Over Knives changed my life and gave me hope!

  • Happy Herbiversary to Me! « Jason and the Veganauts

    […] passed since I took the vegan plunge, the calendar doesn’t lie.  October 16th of 2011 was New Life Eve and the very next morning began one of the most transformative experiences of my life.  I started […]

  • Eugene

    When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thanks!

  • narf77

    veganaut…I LOVE it! I can’t stand hypocritical “pointy” vegans with holier than thou comments either…I love your explanation for veganautism and allowing people to live a healthier life in the real world. Pointy people make living simply a terrifying proposition! Forgedaboudem’ is what I say! Well done on your complete change around, nothing like a 180 degree turn to give you a new and refreshing perspective on life and it would seem that your life has indeed turned around :). Congratulations and can I please be a veganaut? Do we get badges? (or is that verging on the “pointy” elite? 😉 )

    • jasongillett

      Badges? BADGES?? We don’t need no stinkin… wait, I like the badge idea. Maybe we do need badges! And you are most definitely a veganaut~ you are on the crew with all of the benefits and health insurance that comes with it. It is a term for everyone to use freely- I hope you will spread the term and the spirit behind it with as many people as possible. I think it is the way to begin changing the public’s image of vegans. I’ll let you know when it is time register for you badge : )

Leave a Reply

