Jason and the Veganauts

and the Quest for the Vegan Golden Fleece

Beginning of a New Era

New-Mayan-CalendarToday is the big day! Time to take down your old giant circular stone Mayan calendar and replace it with the new one that the Humane Society sent you.  I am ready to hang ‘Kittens in Baskets’ above the desk but I need to rent a fork-lift and hire a general contractor first.

I enjoy being part of a good apocalypse frenzy every now and again.  Some are more believable and frenzied than others so I’ve learned to be selective.  For Y2K I brought my A-game.  Anyone with the amount of student loan debt that I had back then was rooting for the collapse of society and the credit rating system.  That solution to my financial woes didn’t work out at all the way I though it was going to.

As a Floridian, mini-apocalypses (pronounced hurr-i-canes), occur often enough to keep me in a constant state of preparedness.  Jugs water, cans of food, bottles of medicinal whiskey, and FEMA forms are always on hand for the unpredictable wrath of Neptune.

The 12-21-12 Mayan Calendar Scare was (is) a little more concerning.  Thanks to Hollywood there have been at least a dozen different versions of what this particular End of Days could have looked like.  How do you prepare for magnetic pole shifts, asteroids, zombies, epic solar flares, AND the Vogon Constructor Fleet?  You don’t… you just wait.

For me, I have an added Earth shattering event that falls on this day.  The middle child turns 14 today.  My blond girl has morphed from a sack of potatoes to a young woman in a terrifyingly short time.  I merely blinked and she’s already preparing to take her straight A’s and beautiful smile to high school.  Maybe this is what the Mayans were talking about.  I know she will tear some hearts and worlds asunder, and it would be a lie to say that I am not a little afraid for myself.

The people trying to calm the terrified masses liked to point out that the Mayans didn’t actually predict a fiery death for us all.  Instead, they explained how it signified the end of one era and the beginning of the next.  This can be interpreted in a lot of different ways depending on where you sit on the Optimist-Pessimist Spectrum.  Since I perch on the end with the sunny dispositioned folks, I am excited by what a new era could mean.

Can you picture it?  We are all standing on the brink of a new period in human history.  War, hate, hurt, and greed have run their course and the Era of Compassion is upon us: compassion for other humans, compassion for ourselves, compassion for all living things and even the Earth herself.

It wont be like the flipping of a light switch.  Instead the gradual change has been occurring since civilization was born and began crawling into the future.  However, I can easily imagine that today we’ve reached a tipping point.  Love and caring are rapidly replacing fear and selfishness.  Each forthcoming generation will be more prepared to live a life of compassion.  They’ll be paving the way for their children and grandchildren who will be jogging into the future, holding aloft a torch of love.

The changes occurring in the present are staggering.  The vegan movement is growing exponentially.  The meat industry is reporting losses as less and less people buy their cellophane wrapped cruelty.  The dairy industry is suffering as their customer base begins to see clearly through their brainwashing campaigns and practices.  We are winning this war of compassion and as our numbers continue to grow our collective future becomes brighter and brighter.

Happy New Era to you all, and Happy Birthday Blondie!

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Beginning of a New Era

  1. Yes, I can feel a change in the wind…it’s very exciting and I’m so happy to be part of it! (Happy Birthday to your daughter, Jason!)

    • Thank you Sheree- it is very exciting to see the changes taking place right in front of us. Even in my short 15 month stint as a vegan I have seen an increase in plant based options at restaurants and in grocery stores. More people are talking and taking some are taking the plunge. I wonder what it will look like in 20 years… Cheers!!

  2. We called it “The Age of Aquarius” back in my day, young feller.

    Happy Birthday, Parks!!!!!!

  3. A child turning 14 is indeed more frightening than the apocalypse. Good luck my friend!

  4. I heard it’s the end of the “man” era and the beginning of the “woman” era. So, you’d better rent “The Notebook”, let go of your Yang and start getting in touch with your Yin if you want to survive in the “New World”. :)

  5. Aimee B. on said:

    Happy birthday to your daughter! It is indeed frightening how fast they grow! :)

  6. Gina Guillotine on said:

    Awesome entry! Very entertaining. Happy Birthday, Blondie!

    We, too, had a birthday today. My daughter, Miss Muffet, is now five. She can be such a handful at times you think she is singlehandedly bringing about the Apocalypse, either that or you wish it would happen because anything is easier than dealing with a child who is clearly infected with lycanthropy.

    Something has to change. We cannot keep going the way we are, so hopefully a new, compassionate means of eating and living is about to break.

    Enjoy your holiday!

    • Thanks Gina! Enjoy Miss Muffet at age 5- one of my favorite ages. Think of where the vegan revolution will be when she is 15 and 25. There’s a whole new world coming for all of us. Happy birthday to our girls!

  7. I think my ancestors were onto something and hope a compassionate era is upon us. Sorry to point thisbout, but the image you have displayed is the Aztec calendar. The Mayan calendar looks very different

  8. Hi Jason! I don’t know you, but I feel like I do because I read your blog. I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for your blog in general, and especially for this post. I, too, feel that it is the beginning of a new era of loving kindness, and I am super excited about it! I also want to thank you for being a huge inspiration to me. This is the first year I will be breaking the news to my well-meaning but meat-loving family members… that I won’t be having any prime rib, or the butter and cream drenched side dishes, for Christmas dinner. There will be no talks about vegans, the environment, or animal welfare because I do not want to go down that road with my beloved family… at least not yet. Instead, I have decided to take the path of least resistance and blame it on my digestive system (which is actually partially true). I am not sure I could have done it without other supportive vegan experimentalists such as yourself who understand how it is when you first start down the path. By the way, I did have 3 butter cookies, and I don’t feel like a bad vegan. I think this means I am a true veganaut. Thanks again, and here’s to the new Era of compassion!

    • Great to meet you Karin! If you’ve been reading the blog then we are officially old friends. I hope your vegan journey is progressing well and you dodged all of the conversations that require defending veganism over the holidays. You sound like a model veganaut~ a butter cookie every now and again is still light years beyond where we were are omnivores. Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

