Jason and the Veganauts

and the Quest for the Vegan Golden Fleece

The Disney Happy Haunted 5K Trail Run

Today the school year starts for the kids in our area and the rest of the nation is following suit soon.  This means another summer is ready for the history books even if the students are not.  I’ve always loved summer but in my heart I consider myself an Autumn guy:  school starts, Gator football season kicks off, Halloween is followed by Thanksgiving which is followed by Christmas which smells like cinnamon and presents and pine trees.  I love the season we are starting soon.

Another exciting event on this autumn’s docket is my first official 5K race in more than 20 years, and Shannon’s first ever.  She and I signed up for a 5K being hosted by Disney and we are both nervously excited.  We have been walk-running for weeks now and this event seemed like a great motivator and reward for our hard work.  Rewarding hard work with even more hard work may sound silly, but there is a t-shirt on the line.

The big day is going to be Saturday, September 29 on WDW property.  The pressure comes from the minimum pace requirements.  Disney asks that you maintain a 16 minute per mile pace or you run the risk of having to get on the pace bus to be driven to the end and then NOT receive a finisher medal.  We are walk-running about 18-19 minute-miles right now so we are watching the 45 day countdown closely and pushing ourselves just a little bit more each day.  T-shirts are awesome, but a finisher medal is something to hang in the cubical at work and brag about to passing co-workers… or to simply wear around as a conversation starter in case some co-workers start avoiding my work space for some reason.

As of this morning the 5K event was 70% full and the 10K event was at capacity.  If there are any runners on Team Veganaut that want to join the fun, here is a registration link.  If you do join us, you can run ahead and try to break your own records or you could hang back with the 15.9 minute pacers and enjoy the suspense of running seconds faster than the pacing bus.  Either way, it promises to be an exciting weekend.

With 45 days left to train I expect there will be a lot of aspects of this race training to share with you.  There is a lot to learn and try to remember as preparations move forward.  In many ways, today is like back to school for us too.  I bet all of our teachers are nice, we have early lunch block, and ALL the mean kids moved away.  It is the beginning of a new school year and anything is possible.

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “The Disney Happy Haunted 5K Trail Run

  1. You will have so much FUN, and WDW knows how to do it right! My only suggestion to help with time, no bathroom breaks :-)

    • Sound advice! Thanks Roxanne, I’ll empty myself before the race. : ) I’m excited to see what WDW rolls out for the runners.

      • That may be tricky, something about the excitement of a race always makes me need to pee multiple times… Sorry TMI!

        Try doing some uphill sprints once a week, run uphill as hard and fast as you can for 3o seconds, then walk back down, take a 30 second break and repeat as many times as you can. You’ll find you are much faster on flats as you keep it up. You’ll be screamin’ fast by the time the 5k approaches!

  2. You can do this Jason and Shannon! 45 days is plenty of time to reach your goal and surpass it! If I lived in your area, I would surly be on your team! If you care for some inspiration, go buy the book “Born to Run” Its an easy read and will make you want to do better! Congrats on setting a goal and going for it!

    • Thanks for the book title and cheering! I feel very confident that we’ll make it in before the bus, with just enough nervous excitement to keep it interesting. I can’t wait to post some finish line pics (and of course, me posing with Mickey!) Cheers!!

      • Hopefully that very book will be at your mailbox any day now…. Sorry for the belated mailing! Sounds like it’s good timing though!

  3. greenhornet on said:

    Why did you not train with a C25K program? You could have been running the 5K instead of the run/walk.

    • It was bad timing on my part. I got off my couch several weeks ago and started training. Then I found out about Couch to 5K programs, but since I was already off the couch I felt dishonest living that lie. I’m sure in the future we’ll eventually catch up to where we could have been with a better program, but I may not even forgive myself then. Thanks for pouring salt in the wound ; )

  4. kalesaurusrex on said:

    Being in Australia, the idea of running a 5k with a Disney Theme is just brilliant! :)
    As I said on your FB post, I’ll do a 5k on the 29th to join you all in spirit, though my trail will involve less Disney and more of a coastal theme, LOL.
    have fun with the training!

    • That is so cool! I love the thought of 5Ks being run all across the globe at the same time~ we’ll need to post finish line pictures. Your coastal theme sounds like a sweet run : ) We’ll put a run-sharing plan in the upcoming weeks. Cheers!

  5. Jennifer on said:

    Best of luck! You will have a great time. I recommend the book The Competitive Runner’s Manual by Bob Glover & Shelby-lynn Florence Glover. It’s meant for 5k to marathon runners. It has a lot of info in it and is mostly technical but it has some motivational stuff, too. Heck, my copy is sitting gathering dust, so if you want, I will donate it to your cause. Just tell me where to send it!

    • Thanks for the title and offer!! The 5K is certainly the start of much bigger plans~ I’m hoping to collect a 5K, 10K, 1/2mara, and a marathon medal from Disney eventually. Not that I will only run Disney races, but they are the tourist version of running and a great place for someone like me to get my feet wet. If I have any problems laying hands on the text, I’ll definitely email you and take you up on your kind offer! You rock : )

      • Jennifer on said:

        You’re welcome! I bought that book at the recommendation of my marathon junkie brother and ran last year before I realized I am a gym rat and not a runner. It’s great and deserves to be used again!

  6. Annmarie Brennan on said:

    GOOD for you and your wife!!!! That is wonderful. My I also recommend a book – titled “The Non-Runner’s Marathon Guide”. It is an incredible book that has helped so many people complete a marathon. I can’t say enough about this book, and I guarantee (literally, I will buy your book if you get it and aren’t happy) that if you read this book, your life will be changed forever.
    I will be sending up good thoughts for you and your wife. You’ve made a good choice of events……WDW is fun and supportive. Blessings!

    • Thank you Annmarie! I am excited about the Disney version of fun running- I am usually a camper vs. a cruise type of vacationer, but this version of a run-race appeals to me during this stage of regaining my healthy body. I am downloading this book on Friday because it looks like precisely what I need to move beyond the 5K into the distances I am dreaming of completing in the next year. I have the ultimate faith in your book choice and seriously doubt that I’ll need to request the money-back option… but I’ll keep the receipt… : ) JK!

      Thanks again!!

  7. Woot! Woot!

  8. I can’t wait to hear how your 5K goes, especially at WDW! I have run a lot of races, 5K, 4 milers, 10K, 12K, 1/2 marathon, marathon…but never at WDW although I have contemplated it. Might be something I’ll try with my kiddo when she’s old enough. Good luck trimming down your pace, you can do it!

    • I am VERY excited about the venue! We’re big Disney fans and it is hard to find WDW experience we have not tried. This is a real treat for us : ) I’ll post pics and share the Disney magic when the big day comes!

  9. Pingback: Run Jason, Run « Jason and the Veganauts

  10. When I started my own vegan weight loss journey the Expedition Everest Challenge was my gateway. I even worked myself up to the Tower of Terror 10-miler that was going on that night of your race. It’s a great sense of accomplishment when you finish a race, especially at Disney. I’ve signed up for Everest and the 10-miler again. This year I’m contemplating the Food & Wine Half.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

