Jason and the Veganauts

and the Quest for the Vegan Golden Fleece

Day 5: Coffee Snobbing

Day four and five have been nice and calm.  The near panic has subsided and I am on the verge of winning the mental game.  I still drive by Publix and simultaneously picture the good steaks and imagine the smell of spicy unbreaded wings from their deli.  It happened twice today and I had the same reaction both times- years of training is hard to undo.  However, I must not be an old dog because for the most part I have learned this new trick pretty well.

Many years ago when acquiring a taste for coffee during my college internship, I held an opinion that I still hold today: there is no bad cup of coffee.  Originally, this was a necessary opinion to have because I had not figured out the grounds to water ratio.

I enjoy coffee at every safe temperature and with any amount of unsafe sugar and cream.  I could drink it black or white, hot or cold, but during the Atkins years, when left to my own devices I tended to indulge with lots of half and half and Splenda.  It was perfect for a low carb diet and it became part of my morning… and my mid-morning… and my post lunch dessert.  It gets worse, but I’ll spare you the details and the ellipses.  Suffice it to say I drank an enormous amount of liquid butter in my hot coffee over a long period of time.  This is terrifying in retrospect.  At the time it was justifiable based on results and easy to live with if I didn’t think about it too much.

For the last five days my coffee has been black or the mahogany color of coffee mixed with almond milk.  It could be easy to pine for my sweet, creamy mugs of coffee and complain about what I don’t have with this new lifestyle.  However, I am finding it more fun to embrace this old, robust friend that I have not seen in many years.  I loved coffee without crap in it, I just forgot that I did.

Today I visited the coffee shop Barnie’s in Winter Park.  $1.79 is less than I pay for a 7-11 coffee, but at Barney’s that’s all you pay for the personal blend drip special. The baristas allow you to select several bean types to grind together and then percolate the hot water through in the Brazilian drip style.  Today I had them grind a flavor called Christmas with a playfully flavored bean called Cupcake! It had a robust bouquet with a complexity and balance that you wont find in a convenience store.

I’ve come a long way from pork rinds and diet Pepsi and I think I like it. -277

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Day 5: Coffee Snobbing

  1. That looks like good coffee. You inspired me to have my coffee black today. I never thought about how processed my creamer and sweetener are.

  2. Excellent! Shannon is having a harder time with the coffee and is turning to stevia- I understand her reasoning, but I still don’t feel the need to add anything yet. I think simple, uncombined foods are an important factor. I’m still trying to nail down what I believe. It is a patchwork of different diets and belief systems. I’ll have to blog about it when I figure out what I am doing.

  3. Sorry for Shannon! It has been difficult with all the pumpkin spiced coffee additives calling to me. I have started adding a quick grind of nutmeg, try it you might like it.

  4. Gary Mahatha on said:

    Your Blog is Awesome!!

  5. I’m sipping a cup of fair-trade Columbian with a splash of almond milk as I read this, and I raise my mug to you and your steely willpower. Oh, and I threw up in my mouth at the mention of pork rinds…my little pet piggie Piper & I are so very glad you’ve given those up for good!

    • Cheers to you! Pardon the little bit of vomit- please apologize to Piper for me too. I may be saving many lives a day after the change but I still have a lot of meat in my past. Sometimes I feel like I have a lot of work to do in the vegan community to make up for it. Its a labor of guilty love : ) Bottoms up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

